Unusual Way

This is the song that I built my entire show “Musings of a Hopeless Romantic” around. “Unusual Way”, from the musical “Nine”. It is the only song that seriously threatens to overtake “Can You Feel The Love Tonight?” as my favourite song of all time. So, tonight’s post will only consist of Maury Yeston’s amazing, transcendental lyrics, as well as the link where you can hear the definitive delivery of the song by the great Barbra Streisand.

I would like to dedicate this song to all the girls who have ever touched my soul. In a very unusual way, you’ve made me whole…

“Unusual Way” (music and lyrics by Maury Yeston)

In a very unusual way, one time I needed you
In a very unusual way, you were my friend
Maybe it lasted a day,
Maybe it lasted an hour,
But, somehow, it will never end….

In a very unusual way, I think I’m in love with you
In a very unusual way, I want to cry
Something inside me goes weak,
Something inside me surrenders,
And you’re the reason why,
You’re the reason why…

You don’t know what you do to me
You don’t have a clue
You can’t tell what its like to be me looking at you…
It scares me so, that I can hardly speak…

In a very unusual way, I owe what I am to you
Though, at times, it appears I won’t stay, I never go
Special to me, in my life,
Since the first day that I met you
How could I ever forget you,
Once you had touched my soul?
In a very unusual way,
You’ve made me whole.

Leave a Reply

