Christmas In Paris

Little did I know, when I woke up this morning, that I would be writing on here tonight from a hotel room in Paris! I guess this is a prime example of the unpredictability of life, and the (pleasant) little surprises it can offer!

It’s been a hell of a week. My flight from England was cancelled twice, and today was my third attempt to escape England to get home for my well-deserved holiday. Train from Liverpool to Manchester Airport was on time and ran like a dream. When I got to the airport, it was nowhere near as crowded as news reports made it out to be over the past week. Just a few calm, smiling people in a queue that I got through before I even realized I was in one. Then I ran into an old friend I hadn’t seen in a couple of years, who, by coincidence, was going the exact same route as myself.

And then, just as we were supposed to board, some wiseguy from the airline told us the flight will be delayed. So, of course, we left Manchester an hour later than scheduled, touching down at Charles De Gaulle Airport just as my other flight to Bucharest was taking off. Fast forward through conversation with Air France employees, who provided my friend and I with complimentary accomodation, as well as dinner, breakfast and lunch. The bastards 😛

So here I am now, writing from a hotel room in Paris. I am one of those people who really try their best to see the full half of the glass in everything. So I am going to stop feeling upset that I could have been at home for Christmas Eve – and instead, embrace the pleasant unpredictability of life. For I usually spend Christmas Eve at home every year. But how many times does one get to sip champagne in Paris on Christmas Eve, completely unexpectedly?

And on that note, I would like to wish everybody a very Merry Christmas, wherever you are in this wide world. May you be loved, and love in return. May you be blessed, and may you have everything your heart desires and more.

The best of wishes, at this magical time! Joyeux Noel!

Peace and Love,

Petru 🙂

Leave a Reply

