Attend The Tale Of Sweeney Todd

I haven’t blogged in a while, and thought it was high time to write again. The main reason is that I did not have internet at home for a little over a month. Many of you may have been watching this soap-opera through the benefit of my Facebook Status Updates, lol. Here’s what you have to do if you want internet in the United Kingdom. You give them a call a month BEFORE your intended starting date. That way you ensure you get internet right when you want it, what with all the delays, excuses, nerve wracking phonecalls while you are endlessly put on hold and have to listen to that crappy generic phone line music, and have to explain your situation again and again from scratch to some pimplehead freshly out of high school at best.

But the other reason I didn’t write is a far pleasanter one. I have been involved in one of the most enjoyable experiences of my life. For this fall I was offered the great opportunity to be part of the cast of Stephen Sondheim’s operatic musical “Sweeney Todd”. Yes, the one they made into a movie featuring Johnny Depp. And no, I did not play Sweeney, in case you might ask, I was “just” in the Ensemble. The Ensemble was cut out from the movie version, but rounds up the stage version nicely. And even though it was just “ensemble work”, it rates among the hardest work I’ve ever had to do on the stage. The beautifully dissonant music proved a challenge to get right. The stage acrobatics we have to do at certain points took some getting used to. Also, it was a treat to wear that wonderful costume and to tread around that wonderful set.

I will never forget this experience, being onstage and in the rehearsal room with such talented and dedicated artists – the kind of which I had almost given up hope that I’ll find at LIPA. To finally find the level of committment I expected of an institution as prestigious as this – and to even have to up my game a little myself. This is what it’s all about to me. And the best part? We got three more shows to perform this week! Attend the tale of Sweeney Todd in the PMA at LIPA, if tickets haven’t sold out already!

6 thoughts on “Attend The Tale Of Sweeney Todd

  1. So you think that all the other LIPA students you’ve met over the last 3 years have no talent or dedication?

    • No no, all of them have great talent, that’s a given! And I admire every single person who goes to LIPA for that special talent they’ve got. However it really disappoints me that (some) people don’t back it up with dedication and hard work – and to me that’s even more important than talent!

      I guess what I also meant to say is that I wish the music department were run as tightly as the acting department. Cuz I found out first-hand that the fact they’re a bit stricter really brings out the very best in people. 🙂

  2. Ok.. but you basically just said that you hadn’t met anyone talented and dedicated at LIPA until you got to the acting department. Do you not think that’s a bit offensive to LIPA students who are not on the acting course who are quite likely to read your blog because you post links on facebook?

    • I think that interpretation is a lot harsher than what I intended. All I meant to say is that, on the acting course people generally put more into it because the whole course is run a lot tighter. It applies to me too, as I said in my post I myself had to “up my game” to meet their requirements. Yeah, maybe I expressed myself wrong then, it’s got nothing to do with people’s talent!

      You know how it is, on music-run projects people are allowed a lot more slack, we’re all late sometimes to classes and rehearsals, people tune guitars for half an hour sometimes before rehearsal even starts. On “Sweeney” I found that if you weren’t there on time, even 5 min before the rehearsal – then you weren’t allowed in.

      But hey, this is just my experience – other people will have their own views on all this!

  3. I have no idea what you could possibly mean, Jenni. Whatever you think I might have meant, is NOT what I meant so if you insist to see it that way then I guess there’s nothing more that I can do about it.

Leave a Reply

