Fire With Fire

Happy New Year, world! I hope you are all feeling refreshed and ready to attack 2011 with new energy and commitment. According to Chinese astrology, this is the year of the Rabbit, and it’s supposed to bring a period of calm and things coming to fruition. This forecast fits perfectly with the events that will happen in my own life this year. First, and foremost, tomorrow I am returning to Liverpool to start the final lap of LIPA before finishing my degree. Yes, world, this is the year I graduate from university. I will be a legitimate, educated young man ready to become a force of good in the world. šŸ™‚

This year will also mark my return to Romania to live and work there as a musician and actor after 4 years of being a student in Liverpool. I already have some significant professional opportunities lined up for me back home. Being the superstitious guy that I am, of course I cannot tell you about them now, until I know 100% that they are going to happen. I will, however, say that one of them involves setting up my own professional standard recording studio in Bucharest. Happy times!

Back to LIPA, I have finished my Dissertation (which was the thing I feared the most about this year) and now only need to do some minor editing to it before I can turn it in. Having already done two gigs in Bucharest over the winter break, I don’t need to worry too much about finding more gigs in Liverpool in order to meet the minimum gig quota for my degree. However I do intend to do at least one trial gig before my showcase in April. I am also scheduled to perform at an Auction Gala at a very nice hotel in Bucharest in March. It was very touching to receive this invitation from my old school, the American School of Bucharest. I will be performing for some pretty important international people in Bucharest, which should be a great way to introduce myself as a musician back in my cosmopolitan home city.

It’s weird to see that Bucharest is more international than Liverpool these days. Not to mention it’s at least 4 times as big. And there’s even a jazz scene that seems to be starting up.

So, here’s where I’m at, and what I’ll be up to in the first half of 2011. I hope that you all have an equally productive and (hopefully) rewarding year ahead! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

