End Of An Era

Well well well. I have shamefully been absent on here for a long long time. During my hiatus, I have been very busy with the end of my degree at LIPA, most importantly with my showcase. I had great fun, worked with some wonderful people which I am in awe of. Bottom line is that, despite all my constant whining and defeatism over the past 4 years, these 4 years have been the time of my life so far. If I have to draw the line, I cannot imagine what my life would have been like without this wonderful place and these people. I feel bad I didn’t make more friends in this place, because it’s not easy for me to open up to people and I think most of us are this way in this business, so it feels like I didn’t really get to know many of my schoolmates as well as I could have, even though I admire and like the vast majority of them.

To quote my favourite book, “Lord of the Rings”:

“I don’t know half of you half as well as I should like; and I like less than half of you half as well as you deserve.”

How true these words ring now. I think I shall have a quote from LOTR at every significant stage in my life. It is the “Godfather” of fantasy stories, with a quote usable for everything in life.

Leave it to me to suddenly turn a post about me finishing LIPA into a post about Lord of the Rings. Typical. The Snoopy within me is currently shaking his head in silent consternation, haha. Oh, and did I mention I’m pretty much done with uni? It’s really hard to comprehend it. Just had my final tutorial today and my teachers made some valid points. I didnt get the grade I was expecting because of my lack of drive and gigging activity this year. Although my voice was great, which was the part I was most worried/concerned about. All this should largely take care of itself when I get back home and on a gigging spree. It’s important in life not to get disheartened by getting a low grade. Or, anyway, a lower grade than the one you were maybe expecting. Especially if you’re like me, and you don’t really care about grades at all. Sometimes, a cold sober shower is just what you need to get you to pull your head out of your own ass and get going. The most important thing I was told today is that I have what it takes to make it in this business, if I could just bring myself to do it. Now I just need to get out there and fucking do it. Not think about doing it. Actually doing it.

I assume I didn’t get to 6600 views on here (and counting) without some of you LIPA peeps reading this, so if you are a LIPA teacher/student/staff member reading this now, I want to let you know how grateful I am that we have met, even if all we exchanged was a furtive glance in the halls. Each and every single one of you has made my life better in many more ways than I could even think of at this moment. Just because I don’t always express my emotions (ever heard of the word “introvert”? Look it up 🙂 ) doesn’t mean I didn’t feel them. I hope the feeling is mutual. I wouldn’t have missed this for the world, and would repeat the experience if I could.

I will finish off this post with the first song I sang at LIPA, in February 2007 for the audition that got me in. The message of this song now comes full circle at the end of this most enjoyable era in my life. Cheers, guys!

2 thoughts on “End Of An Era

  1. Great post, Petru. I can only imagine how it feels to be finished with 4 amazing years (did you do a diploma course to?), and the thoughts you must be left with – What NOW?? I wish you all the best, and thanks for letting me be a part of your showcase. I had fun. 🙂
    xxx,
    Audrey

Leave a Reply

